So much for free time!

Last week was a whirlwind, mostly because of:

1) Our school enrollment going through the roof;

and

2) An interview for a possible new job for next year!

Regarding #1, it has really felt like getting hit by a tidal wave for the past couple of weeks, and just today I found out that the numbers justify that feeling: our high school enrollment grew by 67% over the last three months, most of which occurred just in the past 2-3 weeks!  The reasons for this huge wave of new students are not totally clear, but it seems that it’s mostly due to the fact that we’re the last online school in the area still accepting new students.  My feelings on this issue are mixed, but I will save that musing for another post…

Meanwhile, any remaining energy I’ve had for the past week has been focused on gearing up for an interview for an adjunct position at a local community college!  I am both interested and nervous about the idea of moving up to the community college level from high school, but mostly I am excited about the idea of having a traditional classroom again, at least some of the time.  I miss the physical classroom — there, I said it!  I even miss getting dressed up for work — it has been way too long since I’ve tried on professional clothes and I was starting to forget what they felt like and what I looked like in something other than leggings!  So I spent most of my weekend looking for a real interview suit.

Finding a suit is hard, especially for someone who has never worn one!  I tried on a $400 suit at Nordstrom’s that was just…no.  The salesperson wanted me to wear something he was calling “shapewear.”  I got it on as far as over my head and just sort of flailed around with it for a second before tearing it off in disgust.  What is the point of a $400 suit if it doesn’t even look good without “shapewear”?  Two more frantic fitting-rooms sessions later, I went with a much more reasonable and at least somewhat stylish (I hope) charcoal-grey number from Macy’s.

Of course I realize the interview isn’t all about the outfit, but I did think it was important to project the right image.  This is probably the only time in my life when I will actually want to look “older” (besides when I was a pre-teen, of course!) and a suit helped me feel and project the confidence needed for the job.  The interview itself went by so fast in comparison to the amount of time I put into preparing for it, and now of course waiting to hear about the decision will feel like forever!  In the meantime, I am going to keep applying for opportunities as they come up, and keep focusing on giving my current position my best effort!

One thought on “So much for free time!

Leave a Reply

